• Keep Up with Me!

    You can use RSS Feeds just above here or subscribe by email... you can also go to my About page for a bit more.
  • Most Visited…

  • Lost?

    Heh, that's a bit hard to believe.... Anyway, I have two categories.

    Reviews
    Misc
  • Records…

  • What do you think?

    Please take the time to fill out this poll. I appreciate feedback!

Zipeg

Zipeg may or may not be bad. Read my post..

The Review that Probably Won’t Do as well as the Last One

Best:
Fast, clean, free file extraction.

Worst:
(It doesn’t say it can, but… ) It can’t compress files.

This is a picture of Zipeg's interface.
This is a picture of Zipeg opening Adamantium Weapons.esm, a Morrowind mod I re-downloaded from Elricm.com.

So, here I am awestruck at the fact that my site got 45 views so far today… Wow!

Anyway, I opened my start menu again and searched for something else to review… This one is a bit under-appreciated, but it’s still good. Zipeg is a free file extractor built off of 7-zip. I found it quite a bit ago… I was downloading a bunch of game mods, and I realized that most of them are .ZIP or .RAR, etc. Instead of dropping $29, I found this.

Really, it does what you need it to do: it extracts ZIP, RAR, 7z, and more. On top of that, it has a clean, easy interface. Download your file, Zipeg pops up, and you can just drag-n-drop the files into their places. Of course you can extract them to a specific folder with the Extract button, but I like the drag-n-drop. Also, it has no size limits, and it previews files before they’re extracted, saving you from mistakes. It even translates file names, if you have it configured.

Any bad points? Well, it would be a lot better if it could compress files, but I guess that’s what you buy something like WinRAR for. You really don’t need to archive files, anyway.
Zipeg can be downloaded at Zipeg.com. It works on Windows and Mac.

Check out some of my other reviews.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

2 Responses

  1. […] I use StumbleUpon, right? Anyway, I stumbled software today, and came across this. Remember how Zipeg didn’t compress files? This one does… it extracts and compresses files, and it’s […]

Leave a Reply

