• Keep Up with Me!

    You can use RSS Feeds just above here or subscribe by email... you can also go to my About page for a bit more.
  • Most Visited…

  • Lost?

    Heh, that's a bit hard to believe.... Anyway, I have two categories.

    Reviews
    Misc
  • Records…

  • What do you think?

    Please take the time to fill out this poll. I appreciate feedback!

The Review that Saves Comment Space

Meebo

Best:
It’s right there! No links to other sites, or anything!

Worst:
You have to be signed in and have a Meebo.com tab open to chat back to your visitors.
This is a picture of Meebo in my sidebar.
Here’s a picture of me telling myself hello from here at home.

This is my forth review today, by the way… Well, not really today since it’s a half-hour past midnight.

Anyway, I felt like it took too long to be commenting with Teck earlier today, and I remembered seeing the Meebo widget, so… Here’s a review about it.

Up in my top-right corner is a nice little chat room. The best thing I’d say is that it’s right there in my blog. No links or anything. On top of that, it lets people talk without handing out their IM address, and they can pick their nick while chatting with me. Nice.

I’m a big fan of quick and easy… This fits right in. I went to Meebo.com to get some HTML code, picked out my colors and size, titled it, and stuck it in my sidebar. We can chat, and I don’t have to trouble anybody with reading contact form emails, approving comments, and on. It even saves messages sent to my while I’m offline! There’s a little Meebo ad in the bottom, but it’s no big deal.

On top of that, they offer a Firefox plug-in that puts alerts, etc, in a little sidebar so I don’t have to stay at Meebo.com to know what’s happening. Even with the sidebar hidden, I still get the alerts. Of course, I have to keep open a tab with Meebo on it, but they say they’re working on an independent sidebar… No tab!

While I’m at Meebo.com, I can receive messages from people at my site, or other Meebo, AIM, etc, users. The interface is very simple here, too.

This is a picture of Meebo.com's interface.
Here’s a picture of me telling myself hello from Meebo.com.

So, problem solved. You can get a Meebo account at Meebo.com. A widget can be built in your settings.. Or, you can go to Meebome.com to sign up and build your widget. Have fun.

Check out my other reviews.

Source:Meebo.com, Meebome.com, the scrap of information given before you click the link to Meebo.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

One Response

  1. […] problem with Meebo… Posted on Friday August 15, 2008 by taeleth I wrote a review on Meebo a while ago, but there’s a bit of a problem. It re-names visitors to your site each time they […]

Leave a Reply

