• Keep Up with Me!

    You can use RSS Feeds just above here or subscribe by email... you can also go to my About page for a bit more.
  • Most Visited…

  • Lost?

    Heh, that's a bit hard to believe.... Anyway, I have two categories.

    Reviews
    Misc
  • Records…

  • What do you think?

    Please take the time to fill out this poll. I appreciate feedback!

Defrag Your Disk: Defraggler

It’s always terrible. Your computer starts slowing down, usually a few months after you do it, and you realize it’s time. You need to defrag… This one gets the job done in pieces, even in the background, so it isn’t so difficult.

Best:
Defrag specific areas!
Worst:
Well…

Defraggler in action
This shows what I mean when I talk about showing progress… and when I talk about it being similar to Windows Defragmenter.

So, I’m looking for something to clear my bad memories of Piriform. Before I pull out my big guns, I’ll cover Defraggler. It’s a free defragmentation software that has a bit of a leg up on Windows Defragmenter.

First off, it does everything Windows Defragmenter does, but it does it in a much prettier interface. Also, it’s portable, and you can set it to be low or high priority… I played Morrowind while running Defraggler. Now, I had to set the performance down quite a bit, but it ran… and all I have is a 1.2 GHz processor!

On top of that, you have the option to set it to defrag certain areas! Of course, you can still work on your entire drive, but I like the ability to scan just one folder at a time.

While you’re scanning, it gives you a list of the fragments in terms of fragmented files before and currently fragmented files… along with a percentage. That’s especially nice. When Windows Defragmenter says 50% done, it doesn’t mean anything if I’ve got a million more files to go!

Bad? What do you want me to say? It’s slow? It lacks features…? I didn’t find anything, so I Googled it. I can’t consider a few user-specific errors to be a problem, so I’ll forget about this.

Overall, it’s a good addition to my collection… and a name-clearing for Piriform!

Source: Defraggler.com.

Like this article? Check out other reviews.

Really like it? Recommend me with the buttons below!

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

One Response

  1. […] right. Remember when I said I was holding off my big guns? This one is a major name-clearing for Piriform. CCleaner cleans and optimizes your computer. […]

Leave a Reply

