• Keep Up with Me!

    You can use RSS Feeds just above here or subscribe by email... you can also go to my About page for a bit more.
  • Most Visited…

  • Lost?

    Heh, that's a bit hard to believe.... Anyway, I have two categories.

    Reviews
    Misc
  • Records…

  • What do you think?

    Please take the time to fill out this poll. I appreciate feedback!

Clean Everything You Want: CCleaner

This one cleans everything so well, you have to be careful! Make sure you know what you’re telling it to delete!

Best:
Choose exactly what you want to clean.

Worst:
Teaches you which files are involved in the categories you don’t know about… by deleting important files, if you don’t un-check the box!

CCleaner interface
It’s got a pretty easy interface that gives you control over everything.

All right. Remember when I said I was holding off my big guns? This one is a major name-clearing for Piriform. CCleaner cleans and optimizes your computer. It’s very similar to AWC2, but it’s better (and worse!) in a few places.

First off, it does the basic cleaning: temporary internet files, cookies, and such… but it also clears recent documents, your Run history, Windows log files and more. It says it’s quick, but I think it’s about average… Nothing wrong with that, anyway.

On top of that, it’s also a registry cleaner, an uninstall manager, and a startup manager. Really, there isn’t much to describe here.

Overall, I’d say it’s best point is the ability to choose individual categories of things to be cleaned… Not only can you choose to clean your registry, but you can pick subcategories to be included and excluded. The worst? It deletes everything that you tell it to. If you aren’t sure about what you’re doing, make sure you run the analysis before cleaning. It won’t delete anything in any categories you’ve un-checked, but I didn’t know it would try to clear a save file for an online game, etc.

Personally, I prefer AWC2 just because I know I can’t cause any harm… I’m pretty good with computers, but I like to know that I can’t mess up.

You can get CCleaner at CCleaner.com, but I only recommend it to people who really know what they’re doing.

Source: CCleaner.com.

Like this article? Check out other reviews.

Really like it? Recommend me with the buttons below!

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Leave a Reply

