• Keep Up with Me!

    You can use RSS Feeds just above here or subscribe by email... you can also go to my About page for a bit more.
  • Most Visited…

  • Lost?

    Heh, that's a bit hard to believe.... Anyway, I have two categories.

    Reviews
    Misc
  • Records…

  • What do you think?

    Please take the time to fill out this poll. I appreciate feedback!

Recuva, the Review that Meant Well

Maybe it will improve… In any case, this one will save you trouble if you happen to accidentally delete an image. Edit: See the edit.

Best:
Works perfectly on image recovery

Worst:
Didn’t recover any of the documents
This is a picture of the results of Recuva scanning my flash drive.
You can see here that it does work on my flash drive… I wonder why it didn’t work well anywhere else…

So, I’m actually pretty disappointed with this one. It’s by the makers of CCleaner, which I’ve heard a lot about, and it’s really not all that great…

This is going to be a quick review… I’m hoping to get another one out tonight.

Recuva is a free file-recovery program that’s supposed to restore files that you accidently deleted. It’s got a lot of nice features, like choosing where to scan and what to scan for, that make the process go faster if you know what you’re looking for. It even has a wizard, so that it takes you step by step through the process, and it lets you choose where to put the recovered files, instead of the default “unarchived” folder of My Documents.

It finds a lot of files, but only images were in a good enough condition to be recognizable. Scanning documents brought up files as early as 2001, but they were all in weird computer symbols… it didn’t even pick up my .txt test file that I deleted and then immediately checked for, so I’m assuming that .txt files aren’t supported.

On the positive side, every image that I recovered was in perfect shape. So, if you’ve deleted an image, you can use this.

Here’s another good point. I gave it the benefit of the doubt and did a test from my flash drive… It worked perfectly, and it was a .txt. I’d say this one is good for flash drives!

Overall, I wouldn’t recommend using this one. There has to be a better alternative out there…

Want to prove me wrong? I’d be happy, if you did. Leave me a comment, and I’ll re-check this one.

You can download Recuva at Recuva.com.

Source:Recuva.com.

Check out other reviews.

Like this article? Recommend me by clicking one of the buttons below.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Leave a comment